Sports Hall of Fame – 1992


Jay Berwanger

After being named to the All-State football team as a prep at Dubuque Senior, Berwanger went on to attend the University of Chicago when that school was a member of the Big Ten Conference. While playing for the Maroons, Berwanger gained national fame when he was named on all of the recognized All-American teams, and he was the recipient of the first Heisman Trophy in 1935.


Wilbur Dalzell

Wilbur Dalzell came to Dubuque in 1922 and began a coaching career that lasted through 1966. During his career at Dubuque Senior, he served as coach for the first all-star football game. He was a charter member and helped organize the Mississippi Valley Conference in Eastern Iowa. He also served as head football coach for 22 years. Under his guidance at Senior, 14 boys were selected to the All-State first team, and many of his athletes went on to play college football. Dalzell is the only coach to be named to the Iowa High School Coaches Hall of Fame in football, wrestling, and track.


Sharon Fladoos Smallwood

Sharon Fladoos Smallwood was probably the first female athlete from Senior to achieve notoriety. In 1958, Sharon played so well in her first year of golf that she earned the medallist honors with a score of 73 and led the Rams to the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Association state championship. She went on the capture medallist honors in each of her four years at Senior while leading the Rams to four straight state championships. In 1956, at age 13, Sharon became the youngest golfer to advance to the semifinals of the USGA’s Girls Junior Championship. Sharon took control of the junior field beginning in 1958 when she won the first of three consecutive Iowa Junior crowns. She was also runner-up in the Iowa Women’s tourney in 1956, and won that event in 1960.


Gary Gottschalk

Gary starred in both basketball and golf at Senior High from 1960-63, and was a member of the National Honor Society. He was the leading scorer in the Mississippi Valley Conference in basketball as a senior, and was an all-state first team selection in 1963. He was also on the all-tournament team at the state tournament that year and was voted to the all-opponent team of state champion Newton. Gary was a member of two state champion golf teams and qualified twice for the U.S. Golf Association National Junior Championships and once for the International Jaycee Championship.


Dick Hoerner

Dick started his football career under Coach Wilbur Dalzell at Senior High as a fullback. He helped the Rams to Mississippi Valley Conference championships in 1939 and 1940, and was named to the All-State team twice. He went on to the University of Iowa where he played one season of football before entering the service where he also played the sport. Returning from service, Hoerner went back to the University of Iowa in time to play in 1946 and was named to the All-American team that year. He gave up one season of eligibility to turn pro as Los Angeles made him its No. 1 pick when his original class graduated in 1945, and Cleveland selected him No. 1 in 1946.


Joe Hoerner

Joe pitched for the Dubuque Senior High team that won the Iowa State baseball championship in 1954. He then went on to a long career in professional baseball. Hoerner was signed by the Chicago White Sox and sent to Duluth-Superior of the Class C Northern league where he compiled a 16-5 record, pitched the last eight innings of a 14-0 no-hit victory over Winnipeg, and was named Rookie of the Year. He spent nine years in the minor leagues, playing with the Houston club, which obtained him from the White Sox, before getting his big break with the St. Louis Cardinals when that team drafted him in November, 1965. The southpaw hurler launched his major league career with the Cardinals in 1966 and went on to pitch in the big leagues through 1977 when he was the oldest player in the majors at the age of 40.


James Nora

James Nora was head baseball coach and assistant football coach for most of his 45 years at Senior High. He was also a noted official and active in Elks Club youth activities. On Oct. 17, 1980 when city rivals Senior and Hempstead met on the football field, Nora was wearing his official’s shirt for the sophomore game and was honored between games for his 60-plus years of officiating football games. Nora cam to Dubuque in 1923 and started the physical education program at Senior and junior high athletics at Washington and Jefferson schools. He spent most of his teaching and coaching career at Senior.


Johnny Orr

Johnny Orr coached at Dubuque Senior from 1951-59, taking the Rams to the Iowa State basketball tournament twice. He also was the men’s and women’s gold coach as well as an assistant football coach. He left Dubuque to serve as assistant to John Erickson at the University of Wisconsin from 1960-63 before taking his first head coaching job in college at the University of Massachusetts from 1964-66. He moved to Iowa State in 1980. He led them to six of ther 12 NCAA tournament. Orr has been honored in the past as Big Ten Coach of the Year (1974), National Association of Basketball Coaches Coach of the Year (1976), and Big Ten and Basketball Weekly Coach of the Year (1977), and Honorary M-Man at Michigan.


Mike Reilly

Mike competed in basketball, football and track at Senior High and won all-state honors in both football and track. An end for the Rams football team, Mike went on to the University of Iowa where he was switched to a linebacker. In his senior year, Reilly was name an All-American and was drafted in the Fourth round by the Chicago Bear of the National Football League following his graduation.


Harold Sweet

Harold Sweet began his professional career at Carroll, Iowa, as a football and basketball coach. After two years he moved to Anamosa where he coached football for 18 years, compiling a record of 102 wins, 41 losses, and 12 ties. In 1948 he took over as football coach and athletic director at Senior High, guiding the grid team for six years and holding the AD position through 1982 when he retired. Sweet was a leader in the formation of the Iowa High School Athletic Directors Association and he served as the fifth president of that organization.